Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so today in Minneapolis was INSANE! Snow EVERYWHERE! I was very very excited to get out there, but my enjoyment was rather shortlived. Driving around was great, but stopping was a NIGHTMARE. Even at 5 or 10mph, pushing the brakes would elicit the ABS to kick in and the car to slide all over the place. What is up with the WRX brakes?!? It was frightening! I did some test braking to see what would happen and even with my foot to the floor and the ABS kicking in massively, it never disengaged! Ouch!

:(

·
Registered
3,551 Posts
I would figure that the ABS would help avoid such slipage. Have you tried turning the ABS off? I have no experience with driving in the snow, so I don't know whether it would help you or not.

·
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't really want to mess around with the ABS switching on/off. All I can tell you is we're getting 6 to 10 inches of snow here!!! Maybe more!!!

W000000t/Eeek! <--- depending how your brakes work!! :D

·
Registered
10 Posts
I have to agree... I'm not a big fan of our ABS. It seems that the ABS problems were the big fuss before when people were talking about going over railway bumps and such and losing breaking control. It seems like the brakes stop working for like 2 seconds whenever ABS kicks in. It's not a very quick engage/disengage procedure.

Whenever I drive in the snow these days I like to give it the gas while driving, but I do a lot of engine braking and a little brake pedal work. So needless to say I start slowing down really, really early. If you need to stop faster and engage ABS you have no idea as to when the car is actually going to stop. I feel totally out of control. Even letting up on the brake doesn't seem to fix the problem right away... Just make sure you don't push the brake too hard to have ABS kick in. But then again, if still helps to have ABS so you can steer your way around even if you can't stop anymore.