Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking at buying a used wrx I am curious who has the highest miles on there car. I have a Legacy with 200k and still running, how much will the turbo take out of the life of the car.

·
Registered
306 Posts
I'm very careful with my car. I'm not a mechanic but can take care of few things on my car. Worked on the exhaust with a friend and worked on my other mods myself. But... now way in hell I would ever buy a used WRX. I wouldn't even sell it to a friend or family member. I'm too honest too and would suck at any salesman position in the first place.
If I would be a mechanic, I could probably see how much work the car would need. Or if there is a major problem with it, I could fix it for cheap myself. So I would personally stay away from buying a used WRX.

Like I said before, still waiting on some statistics for US owners on broken transmissions on WRXs(2001,2002,2003) compared to Australia, European and Japanese... that should tell us a lot about stupid kids and drag racing.

·
Premium Member
3,539 Posts
I expect to get 200,000 out of mine. You still see plenty of old Turbo Legacies and GL-10s around. Plus they get that kind of mileage out of them in England, OZ, etc. where they have had them for close to ten years.

But I do agree with ticrab. Take a long hard look at who you're buying it from and how its been treated. The tranny would be the main point of concern there (takes the most shock when mistreated). Plus watch the wastegate hoses for signs of an MBC installation.