ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Appreciate some advice. Newbie owner of 2011 WRX. I am at, and plan to stay at 91 Octane stage 1 OTS. Maybe a pro-tune at some point just to experience that, but car is a daily driver and I am very happy. I am not a mechanic, not even close. I see posts regarding stock tmic blowing plastic caps off. Is this a concern for my driving demographic in the first 60K miles? I see that some folks go with an all-metal upgrade from various makers, but wondering if that's overkill for me, and will that mess with my OTS tune? I don't race, on or off track.

Appreciate some advice. I am willing to have a good shop do the upgrade if it's a good idea for engine health/longevity/avoiding bigger issues. I am not interested if it would be, in my case, engine bling/start a chain reaction of needing other mods to compliment the new tmic flow/complete overkill.

Clueless, but becoming less so,
Eric

·
Registered
2,136 Posts
I've been running a stock TMIC for 20k miles on my 2011 stage 1, no issues with the intercooler and higher boost than an OTS tune. It's not to say you won't, they can be a problem at higher boost levels. You wouldn't need to retune for a larger TMIC.

·
Registered
4,033 Posts
I am running stg2 on the stock TMIC. It's efficient enough in any application from stock to stg2. Even with stg2 you'd benefit from a better TMIC.

If you plan on going stg2 and getting it protuned, I would get a TMIC.

EDIT: after re-reading my post it seemed a little misleading.....stock TMIC is perfectly fine for stg2 also, but anything after that would be recommended.

·
Gold Member
2,175 Posts
+1. No worries at stage 1, almost no worries at stage 2. Beyond that, you'll need a new IC.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the comments and advice I'll keep my stock tmic. 250 miles to go before I can open this car up a bit. I'll keep offering to do errands.

Eric

·
Æternum
20,582 Posts