ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I hope all of you are having a good Holiday.

A few weeks ago I replace my 19's WRX with a brand new set of winter tires, mounting on a new set of aftermarket rims.
I bought the full set from Tire Rack, that includes the Michelin X-ice-3, new TPMs, hub ring and nuts set. The tires and wheels match the OEM sizes.

Right of the bet, I noticed a wobbling noise at speed from 40-55 MPH. No vibration at all.
As I had scheduled an one-year maintenance, I reported to the dealer for a quick inspection. The dealer had not found anything wrong!

So, last weekend I took the car to a nearby reputable tire shop. They removed all 4 wheels, check the balance, any rims imperfection and tire damage.
Again, nothing was found wrong!

I came from the west coast and this is my first time with winter tires. But, I still thinking something is wrong.

The wobbling noise starts, as I said 40 MPH and keep up till 55 MPH, and not coming for any specific direction.
It seems the noise range shifts a little bit after 30-40 min driving, going between 55-65 MPH.
Again, the car drives very well and no vibration at any speed. I have tested up to 100 MPH.

Any clue where I should look if it is a problem?

thanks

--fernando

·
Registered
261 Posts
A vid may help. I have different winter tires from you but there is more/different road noise with mine than summer that varies depending on speed. There is also some freshly (past year) paved roads/highways near me & I have noticed my tires whine/warble on them. Not sure if it's something different done when they applied the surface.

I am on yr2 of my winter tires & the road noise is less than last year but still there.

Still say if you can capture/post a vid or audio it could help others understand what you are talking about.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks!