ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Subaru world and i had a few small mod ideas. I have a 2010 four door. I'm mostly just looking to see what manufacturers would be recommeded for a intake, downpipe, catback, and a short throw shifter. is a short throw a part that i could install on my own or should i take it to a shop to have it installed?

·
Registered
6,751 Posts
Start here:
First mods

As for manufacturers, there's a lot of different opinions. Let's start with what your budget is for everything.

How hard the shifter is to install depends on your skills and your tools. What else have you done before to cars?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
my budget is going to depend on how much of my money the wife spends while im deployed. but im looking to put back around 3000 for the parts and a few other things. as far as the experience i have its fairly limited, i have installed a intake on my civic and a lift for a friends jeep but nothing as far as the drivetrain. although i have friends that are mechanics.

·
Registered
6,751 Posts
That's a huge budget for those parts, though it depends what the "few other things" are.

It depends a lot on the exhaust on what kind of sound you're looking for. You should try and find some local owners with different exhausts and hear them in person.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
the few other things are like window tint and mostly for the sound system and for a tune after im finished with the few upgrades im looking at. im thinking about the SPT catback system that one of my friends has but im not sure if i were to replace the down pipe if it would change the sound too much.

·
Registered
6,751 Posts