Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey wassup guys. Im new to the WRX forum and Im currently debating whether I should buy a new WRX or RSX. The reason why Im leaning towards the WRX is because of it's great potential for power from such simple bolt ons. Unfortunately simple bolt ons for Hondas cannot return such great results. I was curious to know what kind of simple bolt ons or inexpensive things I could do and what kind of power I should expect from them? I appreciate any help and cant wait to hear the results :D

·
Registered
25 Posts
Both the WRX and the RSX are great cars. Each car have there own strenghts/weaknessess. I myself came from Honda as well, building many B16/B18C5 motors in my day. However I came to the darkside of FI (Forced Induction) and caved in purchasing a WRX. And quite honestly, best purchase I have ever made.

The Subaru WRX is a bit better capable of gaining HP easier then the RSX through bolt ons, mainly due to the reason of

A) It's friggin turbo charged, anything turbo is much easier to seep power out of! We all know more air and more fuel = more power, Turbo's are arguably the best way of cramming air into smaller displacement motors (IE 2.0L motors such as the EJ20, 4G63 etc).

B) The RSX's advantage, is also is its disadvantage...kind of a double bladed sword. It runs an incredible high compression motor, giving it amazing power at the high end, but also resulting in a very tuned motor straight from the factory. However it seems though that RSX came with a very restrictive Air box, as recent dyno results proved that a simple AEM cold air intake resulted over 15+ WHP. However, exhaust, time-cams (never a very benfecial mod though in any honda), and header give mediocre, but noticable power gains. a Typical I/H/E combo in the RSX can give you a net result of 25-35 WHP (let the flames begin)

A typical WRX (EJ20) will result in power gains like so...