ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen a few people say that getting a BOV doesn't really do anything but make noise. I could care less about the sound, but what causes the leaking? At a certain pressure it must start to lose pressure? Is it the boost controller or in the tune itself? Admittedly I am no expert when it comes to the mechanics... and have ZERO experience with the Subaru. I know the Evo's bov would start to lose pressure for some guys in the low 20 PSI range. A lot of people just crushed their BOV and that helped them to not need to buy an aftermarket BOV.

Anyway... what's needed here?

·
Premium Member
10,943 Posts
Put simply, it leaks, because there is a leak. Somewhere there is a seal that is not holding air. I don't really know how else to describe it. It's like if you have water in a Zip Lock bag, then you punch a hole in it. The water will "leak" out because there is a hole that is not effectively sealing the water in. It doesn't have to do with the boost controller or the tune, air is physically leaking out of the system.

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Put simply, it leaks, because there is a leak. Somewhere there is a seal that is not holding air. I don't really know how else to describe it. It's like if you have water in a Zip Lock bag, then you punch a hole in it. The water will "leak" out because there is a hole that is not effectively sealing the water in.

Well yeah... I guess I was more wondering where the leak typically comes from on these cars. People say it's pointless to get a BOV which is fine with me because it's money saved and I don't think i'll be running that much boost even after a tune since i'll likely just go with a bigger TMIC and a downpipe... maybe a drop in filter? I don't know. I'd like to have around 300 whp and I think i'll be satisfied.

·
Premium Member
10,943 Posts