ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've tried searching, and I'm sure there's something out there, but I can't find it. I'm a newbie (awww...isn't that cute) so don't fault me if I can't find what I'm looking for. Point me in the right direction if you can.

I'm looking for some mods to make that won't impact my factory warranty. What can I get away with? I'm not talking interior or exterior, I don't care about that stuff right now...I'll tint my windows when the time comes. I'm looking for mods that won't get me in trouble with the dealer or my wife lol! If I put something on, and break, and she finds out the dealer won't cover it, none of you would want to be around.

I know there's dozens of little tricks you guys have found, will those get me in trouble? Aftermarket parts are tempting me too? Is a cold air intake a dealer's business??

Help me go faster!

·
Registered
2,834 Posts
The fact of the matter is that most Subaru dealerships are d*cks when it comes to warranty work. You just need to find one that is "mod-friendly."

"Stealth" mods:
You could get a turboback/catback/axleback exhaust. Most places won't care if you have a catback/axleback setup, but I've heard stories where people had dealerships try to deny warranty work because of them. However, both are easy to install/remove. So, if you ever have to take it in to the dealership, you can just reinstall the factory exhaust first.

You could also go with the Cobb AccessPort. That will let you reflash your ECU to either Stage1 or Stage2 (depending on your mods). Cobb says that the reflash is undetectable by dealerships, but if you're still worried, you can always just reflash it back to "stock" when you take it in.

Right now, I'm running the TurboXS Stealthback exhaust, which replaces everything except for the stock axleback. I've also got the Cobb AccessPort and my ECU is reflashed to Stage2. All easy mods to remove in case I need to take it in. :)

·