Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Banned
7,636 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HERES SOME ANALYSIS

here;s the percentage of which brands leak the most based on how many are leaking out of the number bought from each brand.

ATR..............6..........1..........17%
Godspeed...25.........6..........24%
M2...............3..........1..........33%
Perrin..........5..........2..........40%
PDE.............6..........2..........33%
TurboXS......4..........0..........0%
Vishnu........13.........5..........38%
Other..........5..........2..........40%
JDM STi........3..........0..........0%
MRT Flex......2..........0..........0%

as a financial analyst, i would say the following

1) not all the same people voted in each poll. this is the case for a number of reasons, but most obviously, the lack or a "no leak" option on the leaking poll, and the similar counts in samples for each test.

2) all of the pipes with the supposed zero percentage leaking are too small a sample to support that figure. they could in fact be some of the worst, however, i don't think it's coincidence that NONE of the JDM or MRT have leaked. <opinion>

3) Vishnu and Godspeed are the only pipes with enough market share to make any assumptions. i would say that if Shiv's share was similar to Godspeeds, the number would fall closer to 25%.

i stand by the school of thought that all these polls prove is that 1/4 of all installs are done incorrectly, or that eventually, the vast majority of all pipes will leak, and it's just the timing of the leaking that we see here.

dR

·
2,210 Posts
I split this post out and closed the polls. I may post some new and improved poll on this topic sometime along the format of:

- I have uppipe X and have experienced leaks which I resolved.
- I have uppipe X and have experienced leaks which I could not resolve.
- I have uppipe X and have never experienced leaks.