ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I am recently new to the turbo world of Subaru. I bought an 02 wrx and I'm looking to do a small performance upgrade while I build the 2.5 for it just so I can still play with it while I go through the build process. I am a moderate mechanic with experience in doing some mods. Most of my mods on past cars have been cosmectic not performance. So that being said I am upgrading the stock intake manifold and throttle body. I bought the 70mm throttle body and I noticed that the upgrade isn't just swap the old one with new. The idle air control solenoid doesn't seem to quite line up right. Is there a aftermarket one that I would need to buy to go with the 70mm throttle body? Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
380 Posts
I sincerely hope you're planning on getting a tune for that 2.5, assuming you're using the 2.0 heads. If not, you'll either need to disconnect the AVCS on the 2.5 heads, which I don't know anything about the reliability of that, or completely rewire your WRX with an STI's wiring harness and computer and such. There are many, many mods that seem like they would come before a bigger throttle body, and generally, they do come before that. Look into cobb accessports- easy tuning method, safe, ad their maps come in stages- stage 1 is stock, just a reflash of the ecu to a more efficient map that gives you a suprising amount more power. stage 2 generally consists of a downpipe and TBE, and gives quite alot more driveability and power. Stay away from blow off valves, and ram or cold air intakes. They will just give you headaches. And make you wish your pockets were deeper. Don't mess with a subies engine without tuning it. There's generally consequences. Best of luck to you. I have no idea on the answer to your question though...someone more knowledgeable than I will stumble on this sooner or later.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)