ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to the body modifications forum and a search of the database yielded little.

I've noticed on some of the newer "supercars" that the designers are turning to underbody panels, external aerodynamic vortex generators (a la Evo MR), and other low profile additions that increase downforce aside from a trunk-mounted wing.

Has there been any attempts to apply these aerodynamic techniques to the Impreza? I'd love to ditch the wing without hurting high-speed stability.

-B4

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Don't know why this was moved to 'Engine Performance" since it has nothing to do with engines, but only external body mods for increasing downforce.

Hmmm.

-B4.

·
Banned
5,806 Posts
A mountain states dude (scubynubie) has been messing around with this a little, maybe he'll share insight into his home depot front air dam. We've talked about fiberglassing some panels that cover everything possible, but I haven't done much research yet...

I do have a fairly large skid plate under the engine, but the way it's angled had me a little concerned at 143mph :eek3:

·
Registered
846 Posts
Well, for about $26, you can go to Home Depot, and Napa and get the stuff that you need to make a front lip spoiler from lawn edging... I did it because I wanted to make the front look a little more complete, but I swear that it really cuts down on the air flowing under the car, and is much quiter at 60 + mph...

I really like the idea of smoothing out the underneath of the car, but just haven't found a good way to do it yet, but the newest idea is to mold something with chicken wire or the like, then cover it with fiberglass...

I'll post when I have something to show :D

·
Moderating on the run!
12,477 Posts
The 04 (my current car) has gone a lot further w/ this concept than my 02 did. Ofcourse the trade off is changing oil is now a PITA.

Big Sky

·
Registered
87 Posts