ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2006 wrx and I noticed that you can't hear the turbo,so i looked at the wastegate actuator and it wasnt moving when gas is presses. I hooked up pressure to it and it moved the actuator. Even manually moving it when car is being revved still doesnt spool up the turbo (i am kind of new to turbos). Any ideas what to check or what could be wrong? Thank you in advance

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
Pull the turbo (or just pop off the DP) and see if there is any shaft play. Does the wheel spin by hand? Is it hard to spin? Should be able to move freely.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Pull the turbo (or just pop off the DP) and see if there is any shaft play. Does the wheel spin by hand? Is it hard to spin? Should be able to move freely.

I just took it off and it seems to spin freely and easy. Here's some pics of it, in case that helps. what could cause the waste gate to not open.

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
If the wastegate doesn't open, that means it would overboost...

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
well, it has to be under load for one. It won't really open if you just rev it in Neutral.

Actuator stuck somewhere? Completely hosed or blocked off boost control solenoid?

·
Registered
123 Posts
I could hardly hear my turbo do anything before i put an aftermarket downpipe on it. But it was obvious that it did something.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
How do you check the Boost solenoid? Right now the turbo doesnt get hot at all and doesnt make any sound even if i put my ear next to it.

·
Registered
6,751 Posts
Have you checked to make sure you don't have a loose hose somewhere? Sounds like it might be as simple as a boost leak.