ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
completely stock 2002 wrx, 23000 miles... when I'm boosting, the higher the boost, the louder my turbo screams... It does sound neat, but it cant be normal.

Its like a whistling sound, but more metallic sounding.. I still hit full stock boost (13.5psi) but I have a feeling a bearing is shot, and will eventually kill my turbo?

Gunna go to the dealership tomorrow. :(

edit: im new to turbos but most of my friends arent and agree that something is ****ed up. its louder than a turbo shoulpd be, you can clearly hear it screaming even with windows closed and even on the highway

·
Boba Fett
17,939 Posts
Could be a UP leak.

Does it sound like it could be pulling a squirrel through it and the squirrel is screaming at the top of its lungs? You could do a visual inspection of some of the UP to look for carbon deposit on the outside of it to confirm this.

phat pappy p said:
completely stock 2002 wrx, 23000 miles... when I'm boosting, the higher the boost, the louder my turbo screams... It does sound neat, but it cant be normal.

Its like a whistling sound, but more metallic sounding.. I still hit full stock boost (13.5psi) but I have a feeling a bearing is shot, and will eventually kill my turbo?

Gunna go to the dealership tomorrow. :(

edit: im new to turbos but most of my friends arent and agree that something is ****ed up. its louder than a turbo shoulpd be, you can clearly hear it screaming even with windows closed and even on the highway

·
Registered
76 Posts
Yeah, definately check all the exhaust parts pre turbo. I had an exhaust leak at the manifold and it sounded horrible under full boost. I was sure the turbo was going but after a couple of turns of the wrench, all better.:D

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Really? im going to go out and jack 'er up and look. Its complete stock.. so it would be a manufacturer defect if the uppipe did loosen a bit? or is that normal?