ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I call upon the tuning-literate to help me out here please. If I'm posing incorrectly please let me know. It's regarding tuning a Forester with swapped JDM WRX engine, trans and ECU- merged to the factory USDM harness, and what my options are. I jumped right to the issue, but i posted the backstory after, if anyone is interested.

ISSUE:
Forester ej205 swap, upgrades currently being done: 6 speed swap, STI 2015+ steering rack, catless UP/DP, vf48 turbo, STI injectors/intercooler/bpv, Tomei turbo inlet, boost hoses, MM radiator, Brembos etc....

My concern now... is how am I going to tune it? The shop doing the repairs doesn't do tuning. This is my first time every doing a build like this, so I'm curious how this will work once everything's together... Prior to this, any work that was done on one of my cars was done in my parents garage where step-pops has a lift, and a lifetime of wrenching knowledge to guide me. I've never done a custom build or had to tune a car, which brings me here.

Now, almost all of the steering and suspension is being replaced, so my assumption is im going to receive a car that needs an alignment, BAD. Also, I imagine the car won't run well either because of all the changes (if it runs at all? or will it?). The JDM WRX ECU will now wake up to headers, AOS, new catless UP/DP and exhaust, STI injectors and DW fuel pump, all installed while it was out. Any idea what I can expect at that point?