ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of getting winter wheels from TireRack. Right now I am planning to get 16 inch steelies with Continental ExtremeWinterContacts or General Altimax Arctic's. Tirerack mentioned that my car has TPMS. Anyone have any experience with getting TPMS sensors through tirerack for their winter wheels?

FYI, TireRack says they are 315mHz frequency. I am no expert on these, but I am assuming that is the frequency Subaru uses for communication between the tire monitor modules and car

·
Premium Member
10,822 Posts
You will have to get them programmed by the dealer.Not sure but you may also have to get them reprogrammed each time your switch tires.Your dealer can confirm that for you.

·
Premium Member
25,496 Posts
Places like walmart being a tire rack dealer or expert tire, can also do it.. If you don't want to head to the dealer.

·
Registered
6,751 Posts
I bought my winter set with TPMS through tirerack, but I never actually got them set up to work with the car. I'll probably do it this winter though.

I'm still curious whether you'll need to reprogram the car to work with the tirerack sensors each time you swap the wheels, and also whether you need to reprogram them to work with stock sensors after they've been set to use the tirerack ones. Or, does it set it up so that it'll always recognize both those sensors and the stock ones going forward.

·
Registered
316 Posts
The TPMS will only recogize one set of sensors at a time so you will have to reprogram is every time you swap wheels.

·
Wants to Sell His Honyota Civilander..Any Takers?
785 Posts