ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I am 18 years old and I am thinking buying my first vehicle and I want to make that a Subaru. The vehicle I am looking at this 2003 Subaru Impreza WRX Wagon. The owner currently wants $1,500 but will take $1,300 for it sooner- he’d stated that they blown and replaced the first two engines and they’re on engine #3. Apparently the timing went out on this third engine and the valves hit the pistons and bent the valves. They replaced the timing components and heads. During their replacement they mix up the intake and exaust shim under buckets and it runs rough. I live 6-8 hours from the vehicle and a test drive. I am a beginner to the garage and I have access to tools and a garage to work on this myself. My neighbor said he was willing to help me, so I have a few questions for y’all.

How hard hard is it to swap the shim under buckets in this engine?

Is this something we can tackle on our own?

Are there any issue & concerns we should be aware of? Could there be any other damages to the engine I should ask about specifically?

What type of tools and equipment would we need for this repair?

Am I in over my head?

·
Premium Member
10,942 Posts
No. Buy something that runs and is easy and cheap to maintain and safe for a new driver like a civic, accord, or Camry.

·
Super Moderator (Actually a SuperSpy)
29,089 Posts
2007+ Camry in LE trim or better is a brilliant car! Some colours will oxidise so if you’re in a sunny area beware paint damage. Otherwise, if you can find one with a full service history owned by a person that is not a car enthusiast, it may last indefinitely. Great cars.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5