Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I had an interesting problem with a brand new 2018 WRX that I troubleshot and solved, so I thought I'd share my discoveries here. Bottom line; the 2.0 FA DIT is picky on fuel. About 2 weeks ago I noticed hesitation and misfiring during TWO (throttle wide open) in 2nd and 3rd gear when at full boost. Mechanically the car was running perfect. Now for a little background I have 15 years experience working on F/A-18s for the Navy, and just because an engine is mechanically sound doesn't mean there's a serious problem. I always use premium 91 octane or higher fuel, and with less than 2000 miles on the care the likely hood of a spark plug or fuel inject problem seemed awfully low, but hesitation and misfire can pretty much always be narrowed down to fuel/air matrix, or ignition system. Being under warranty I made an appointment with my Subaru dealership, but I knew there was a few things I can do on my own. With today computer controlled engines everything from injector timing, pulse width, spark timing, and valve timing can all be adjusted by the computer in fractions of a second, so problems with spark or injectors should be signaled by a warning light, but sub standard fuel that causes occational fuel/air matrix problems can be ignored by the computer.

When I had my Jeep I always fueled up at the station near my house, and never had a problem, but that engine was a low compression single cam NA engine so it wasn't picky. What I found was that, that station had a minimum of 10% Ethanol blend, even on premium fuel. Once Ethanol is introduced into the mix, all other variables of the fuel go out the window. Ethanol is a water based energy source, as opposed to a petrol, or plant based energy source with completely different chemistry. The 2.0 FA DIT engine HATES ethanol.