Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm new to the car world here, just got out of diesel trucks and bought myself a 2011 Subaru WRX STI, came with an exhaust, cold air, and Cobb tuner, not to sure what else has been done to it as I don't know a whole lot about these engines, just looking for some tips or what to look for to see what else has been done to it thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also just wanted to add that I think it has a BOV, it sure sounds like it but I'm not sure if thats just how they sound or where it would be located, TIA

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
10,985 Posts
I would buy a stock recirculating valve or adjust your current bov to full recirculating. The intake will make the sound of the bpv more noticable.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

·
BooSTIng
2,253 Posts
Well the OP could be hearing the intake/bpv noise. I know on my last wrx it almost sounded like a bov with the intake. However, if there is an atmospheric bov on the car, XJ is correct, you would want to replace it with the stock bpv.

Assuming that you car still has a tmic, the bov/bpv would be on the right side(when looking at the engine) of the intercooler. The stock one would be silver and plain looking. An aftermarket one normally will have a different color (black/red/etc) and probably a a logo on it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well the OP could be hearing the intake/bpv noise. I know on my last wrx it almost sounded like a bov with the intake. However, if there is an atmospheric bov on the car, XJ is correct, you would want to replace it with the stock bpv.

Assuming that you car still has a tmic, the bov/bpv would be on the right side(when looking at the engine) of the intercooler. The stock one would be silver and plain looking. An aftermarket one normally will have a different color (black/red/etc) and probably a a logo on it.