ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newb when it comes to modifying my Subaru, and was curious whether my gas mileage would go to sh(i)t if I were to go stage one. Also what benefits are gained from stage 1 and what mods are necessary to go stage 1, seeing that I only hear everyone and their mother talking about stage 2.

·
Registered
151 Posts
In my experience, it will really only affect your MPG if you are into the boost a bunch. For normal driving, it is as good if not better than stock.

I have "stage 1" on my car, and really the only difference is a better map on the ECU. I used Cobb Accessport (AP) as I'm a newbie with no ECU tuner experience. It is simple to use but costs around $700 for a new AP. It is definetely worth it as it gives you some additional power and smooths out the power band. And it is unlikely to void your warranty.

If you know what you are doing, you can get a cable to interface to your ODBII connection, and find/load a map and get similar results, but there are risks involved and you need some gauges to make sure things are running properly. And did I mention knowing what you are doing. You could blow your motor easily if you do something wrong.

·
Registered
327 Posts
I went to stage 1 about a month ago using the Cobb Access Port. Since going to stage one I think that my MPG has actually changed for the better, and I LOVE boost. :D No extra parts are needed, just need to have some device to interface with the ECU.

I am not thinking stage two although my Tranny worries have me sticking with stage 1 for now.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I'm running the S1 cobb map as well via a v2 ap. I can say there is a noticeable difference between the stock ecu program vs the cobb. Not exactly night and day, but the engine response and output is increased.
For exact specs, at least for an 2007 wrx see here:
http://cobbtuning.com/products/?id=2304
No mods necessary.