ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i just bought a wrx last night and i'm kinda new to the whole idea of it so please be gentle. The previous owner told me that it has a perrin catless up pipe and turbo back exhaust. It also has an aem short ram intake. The previous owner also told me it was tuned stage 1.

I was advised by other members on this board to go to stage 2 but use the stock intake. However, i dont have the stock intake. Maybe i'll have to source one.

Any advice of what i should do at this very moment? Bare in mind, i've never used the accessport before either.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
buy (or trade) a used stock intake from someone who wants to do that upgrade, go stage 2 (TBE + stg2 tune).

Unless, that is, you have a relatively new wrx - in that case, a properly tuned intake will actually give you gains. Unfortunately, you'll probably need to get a protune, as intakes are very touchy. What year is your car?

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
buy (or trade) a used stock intake from someone who wants to do that upgrade, go stage 2 (TBE + stg2 tune).

Unless, that is, you have a relatively new wrx - in that case, a properly tuned intake will actually give you gains. Unfortunately, you'll probably need to get a protune, as intakes are very touchy. What year is your car?
it's an 04 wrx with 88k miles. now that i think about it a little bit, i will have to verify that it is in fact tbe. he didn't say anything about an aftermarket down pipe.

·
Premium Member
10,822 Posts
So,use the accessport to go stage 2.Load the required map & you are set.I still fail to understand why the previous owner didn't load the Stage 2 map,if he had the AP with him,Strange.

But firstly confirm what aftermarket parts you have on the car

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
to confirm:

aem short ram intake
CATBACK EXHAUST not turbo back
perrin up pipe
STOCK down pipe.

sorry for the confusion.