Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
any recommendations on what i should do to go about it? Like what kind of guitar to look into, self taught or lessons, etc. Oh yeah, before I forget, I'd like to learn the acoustic guitar:)

·
Registered
1,532 Posts
I bought a guitar in january and have been teaching myself. I've mostly learned with tabs and listening to songs I know. I'm at the point now where I try to play every song on my playlist as it comes up. Some just aren't really possible (i.e. rap) but it is good practice to learn a bunch of songs that way. It has helped me to play with friends that know what they're doing. They have corrected a few simple mistakes that I've made. I also bought a chord dictionary with fingerings in it, which has helped a bit for figuring out chords I couldn't quite get on my own.

tcc

·
Registered
555 Posts
I was pretty much self-taught w/ the help of friends. Here's my advice (since you asked),

1. practice a bit on a friend's guitar (if you can). Talk to him/her about "action", which is the distance between the string and the surface...some prefer a lot for more play, beginners generally prefer less (easier to grip and easier on fingers). The friend will also teach you to tune a guitar (you tune EVERY time you play, so get good at it, or it'll sound bad), also, if you don't know how, then it'll be hard to compare guitars once you're ready to buy.

2. Shop w/ a friend. Buying a musical instrument at retail is like buying a car for sticker (and I don't mean invoice)...prepare to haggle, be aware of that. Expect to get extras like case, strap, elec. tuner, and definitely a handful of piks (if they charge you 1 dime for each...just walk out).