Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie here and have not yet made any upgrades to my WRX Wagon. I think my first upgrade will be a short throw shifter but I need helping in choosing one and finding a garage to install it. I know Subaru makes thier own one but I don't know how good the after market ones are. I've been all over the net and have seen different models and prices but I don't have a clue still as to what to get. Can anyone please tell all the parts needed, what the best ones are and how much they run? Also, can a normal mechanic or my subaru delaer install this stuff?

Thanks in advance,
Scott

·
Registered
242 Posts
Go with the Kartboy, it's about $100 and you can install it yourself.

·
Registered
161 Posts
I got the short throw shifter as part of my deal with Subaru. Seems like it works pretty good but haven't compared it to a regular shifter (or forgot what the stock felt like). But if I were to get it after I have the car, I would get the aftermarket shifter since it would be cheaper and probably just as good.

·
Banned
7,636 Posts
the Kartboy is really well accepted and used around here. i have one (still gotta throw the bushings in) and love it.

it's about $100, and about a 30 min install. there are some newer comparable ones out there, but we've yet to see a review.

check out Vivid Racing they're a little pricey, but great service and selection.

the sti replaces the entire linkage also, where most aftermarket's just replace the shifter. it's a little overkill imo to replace the entire linkage for a shorter throw.

dR

awesome avatar btw. lol.

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
i think the optional STi shortthrow is a $300 or so cost which is more than the kartboy at $130 with bushings, but still worth considering.