ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this site but most of all I'm new to owning a Subaru WRX STI. I bought a 2017 Subaru WRX STI with 31,000 miles on it. Didn't see any issues after I bought it. I don't know if this is a coincidence or not but I had to have the car jumped. After that is when I noticed the problem I have now. So as I go through my gears when I get to 4th( mostly happens in the higher gears) as I let off the clutch pedal and give it gas it will rev high and my dash will shift down from 4th to 3rd. It does this in just about all the high gears during sport and sport sharp mode. I had it in 6th gear a few times where I get those little shift arrows to shift up. Took it to the dealer seeing it has a 60,000 mile power train warranty and i have a warranty through my loan company. The dealer said I had a bad clutch. They want me to pay $2,000 to fix it. I have talked with a few people I know and they said it don't sound like a clutch issue. I have replaced the battery as I was told the battery was bad aswell. Has anyone one else seen this or heard of this. I've drove plenty of standard transmission cars and trucks. I'm not hard on my car. If anyone know anything or could point me in the right direction that would be appreciative.

·
11,238 Posts
You stomp the gas and the revs shoot up and you don't go? That's clutch slippage. Bad clutch, or hydraulic system maybe.

The other part I don't understand. Are you saying when you tromp on it the shift indicator tells you to downshift? That sounds right to me. You shouldn't be stomping on it in higher gears anyway. Good way to join the dead engine squad.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You stomp the gas and the revs shoot up and you don't go? That's clutch slippage. Bad clutch, or hydraulic system maybe.