Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hi,
I won't lie- I'm quite new to this "forign car" world. I'm a die hard mustang and vette guy who recently converted to this wonderful new world of WRX (2004 premium wrx). Having worked at a (domestic) repair shop for many years, I thought I knew everything there was to know about cars... and now I'm sitting in one that has the word "FUJI" imprinted under the hood. So please, forgive my innocence; I'll catch up quick.

Ok so the first mod I'd like to do is switch the shifter nob to that MOMO sphere one...cause that;s hot, and my friend (who drives an automatic corvette, so he doesnt have too much weight in his opinions) called it a "***** shifter." Only problem is, I can't figure out how to get the damned thing off!!! My 67 fastback's screws off with 1 set screw that is so visable, you can cut yourself on it if your not careful; most american cars are smiliar. I can only imagine it must be some sort of set screw set up right?

Second (and third) question- Down shifting to first is very weird- sometimes it will NOT go, sometimes its like BUTTER. I know I know, your not supposed to do that- but we all do. Plus theres this DEAD spot on the tranny in 2nd at like 8mph which almost nessesitates the down shift. I can hear it spinning up to speed (high pitched whine in the syncromesh- which is a little weird also) but its not too happy to be shoved into first. I've been getting around it by double clutching. Any other ideas? Or is that one of the car's idiosyncracies?
As an addendum; is there even syncromeshing in Reverse?! I'm in the (bad) habit of dropping it into Reverse while still moving forward, but I seem to grind every time!!! No worries though; the grinding will cure me of that habit REAL quick!

Any input greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
3,793 Posts
As far as the shift knob mod goes, there should be instructions with your new one, otherwise I've never done it...