ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Well, ever since I got my WRX I really got into the whole motorsports community. Nothing makes me happier then watching WRC or F1 on TV, or going to a track day to stomp on some European cars :tongue:

Anyways, my plans for college were to major in Computer Science (I've been working with computers since I was a little kid) and get a degree in it. Would Engineering be more fitting to be involved in the motorsports industry?

Also, I started learning to play with my UTEC a while ago. I could do basic stuff...for ex: I had a problem with knock a while ago, so I learned how to pull out a little bit of timing, etc. I've learned little things, but I really want to learn more about how to work on engines and REALLY tune on a dyno. I read threads here and NASIOC for hours every day when I'm off work.

I guess what I'm really trying to say is, what should I be concentrating in college in order to succeed in the motorsports industry? Also, tuners that do like fuel mapping and such do make more money then actual hands-on mechanics?

Heh, I'm sorry this all sounds so unorganized. I'm just really nervous right now because I am starting college in about a month, and I feel like I don't know what I want to do anymore. Thanks to everyone for help.

·
Registered
647 Posts
yo do i know exactly what u mean. I have been builing computers since i was in like 5 th grade (now goin to be a senior in hs) and i started to lvoe cars last summer and now not sure what i want to do. Funny how u have your life planned out then it changes soo fast. I want to do some international business with a minor in something computers, thats the ****. my friends dad does stuff like that and there just filthy rich... i want to be like him when i grow up hahaha ;)

·
Registered
82 Posts
XtianLA said: