Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys

I have been searching all night but can't find the straight forward answers i need. Hopefully you guys can help. I recently bought a used VF22. I am eventually gonna get STI injectors, fuel pump and a cobb reflash, but im wondering if I can run the VF22 without any fuel mods or engine management at about where stock boast is?? would i need a boost controller? Im still a noob so please don't be too hard on me.

·
Banned
601 Posts
You could most likely run a vf22 at upto 15psi on a stock wrx. I wouldn't know if you could do it withought a boost controller because the vf22 has a different wastegate actuator as stock(I think the restrictor makes up for it though). If you have a boost gauge, there is no harm in trying it out without a boost controller and just making sure it doesn't overboost....

peace

·
Registered
178 Posts
You should be alright. The comp controls the boost. so long as you still have a factory comp it should also compensate with more fuel. We get standard WRXs pre bugeye shape over here (JDM imports) that come standard with the VF22. They go hard! still runs the same boost as the other REXs but obviously is flowing alot more air. so you get more go!

·
Registered
7 Posts
vf 22

hEY jim, just a question on the vf22, i to have a my00 and for sometime have been contemplating a vf22 turbo upgrade.In your honest opinion is it real laggy or can you live with it on the street, my mods 3'' exhast , aps tmic, water spray, fuel pump:confused:

·
Registered
178 Posts
I have 3 close friends with them on their cars. An STi Coupe, A regular WRX. (his is a bolt on extra it came with a TD05)and another that came with one standard.
There was no noticable difference from the VF23 to the VF22 on the coupe... Just more top end...