Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well, as some of you may know, I modded the heck out of a new WRX. I am willing/able to accept the consequences/costs if/when something goes wrong with the motor(or anything else, for that matter). I have caught a lot of strong hate for it here as I’m still a novice and a female. Haven’t been active lately, also due to the aforementioned. Also- have had a couple people here be very rude to me about the whole tracking experience in general. I feel like I need the instruction, but the overall attitude towards my situation has me terrified. Based on what I have just revealed, I don’t feel comfortable revealing the date/ time/ or location publicly at this point. Would really like to have someone local to be supportive with me but ugh. I need advice and some positive thoughts. Hoping for some love from club dub ILO the hate that seems to surround the discussion of me, personally, tracking my car at my comfort level and on my own timeframe.

The friendlier people I have talked to have said that I should do at least one track day. The place I am going to is advising that I do either one whole-day or two half-days with an instructor.... I have only signed up for one half-day thus far. Which leads me to my first couple questions. One full track day with an instructor seems like it’d be too exhausting. A half day seems perfect. Do I really need a whole day/ two half-days? Also, I received three maps when I tuned. The first map is more conservative, which is what I’ve been running (censoring the girly name of this map). The third map is the most aggressive (called the honey badger). I was going to try out the honey badger map this weekend before my track day. Not sure which map I should run during my lesson. My goal is really just to learn how to handle and drive the batmobile properly.