ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, i have an 02 black WRX with the stock wheels, and want to make the stock set up look a little better since i cant affort new rims yet........so i want to paint my calipers red. i have a few questions though for thoes of you who have does this before or know the best way to do it...

1) what kinda paint, and where do u get it?
2)ive heard brush on, and spray on...both sound good to me, which is better?
3)is it something that can dry overnight, or do u have to wait to drive again?

some of you may think these ?'s are gay, but im new to everything, i just got my ride last thrusday, but im super excited and would appreiciate anyones time in helping explain the best way to do this....
thanks

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
You can get the spray paint at any practically Autozone etc and it will say brake caliper paint. I did mine durin the day and drove it that night and it stayed on fine, just make sure you give it several coats.

·
Registered
3,515 Posts
i got the brush on type in silver, did not take long to put on and i had to do less masking....
dries almost instantly

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
I painted mine black with a spray can that I bought at Vatozone. FYI- Red calipers looks super ghey with the stock calipers.... and even gheyer with stock rims. Really ghey.

·
"sitting in the corner in Rick Roll timeout"
4,124 Posts
I bought a caliper paint kit (brush on) from eBay for like 20-something. I got silver because it would clean up the ugliness of the calipers, but it wouldn't make them stand out at all and look ricey.

Masked off the immediate surrounding areas. The kit suggested that I let the paint cure for 24 hrs before driving, so i did about 20 hrs. It was easy to put on.

·
Premium Member
26,609 Posts
qoncept said:
I think painting your ugly calipers black to hide them would look better.