ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Subaru WRX
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey!

TLDR question: After replacing the spark plugs, O2 sensors, air filter, and cleaning the MAF... IS there anything else left to do before replacing the catalytic converter? Would it seriously fail after only 120,000 miles?! Oh, and anyone else had head gasket issues? I might be experiencing those... exhaust smells fruity.

So, I'm going to preface this by saying I am a fairly experienced mechanic (I've even successfully fully rebuilt an automatic transmission for funsies), I just am not very experienced with this specific system. I've never had a cat fail on me before, or even get the codes indicating it is.

I've been getting the P0420 code for the last few months, and every time, I've done the "next repair" to try to avoid replacing the cat.

First, I replaced the spark plugs and cleaned my K&N filter (just the filter, nothing aftermarket)
P0420

Then, I replaced both O2 sensors
P0420

So I cleaned the MAF sensor
P0420
P0420
P0420

It's getting more and more common. The last two iterations were 250 and 350 miles between code clearings, which is making me understandably nervous.

I am finding very conflicting information on catalytic converters. Some say they last 50,000-100,000 miles (Doubtful, my Xterra has over 150,000 miles on it; never had a cat issue)
Some say they only fail if something makes them fail, and that you shouldn't replace them until whatever issue has been addressed.

As far as I know, my engine is running great, accelerates fine, and runs efficiently.

The only two things that MAY be indicating an issue are a burning oil smell (it seems my driver's side valve cover is leaking onto the exhaust pipe, I thought it was the passenger side, but I have since replaced that gasket, and the burning oil continues).