ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Woo Hoo! Well, I think I found a house that I really like and I'm probably going to put a contract on it tomorrow. :) Exciting and kinda scary at the same time, since this is my first time... :)

It's a 3 Bedroom/3 bath in Saddle Rock, which seems to be like a great area for resale value. It was built by Richmond in 2001, and has all the right upgrades. I'm exicited! Of course, I'm putting all the contigencies in the contract such as appraisal, inspection, etc.

BTW, should I have a structural engineer look at the house in addition to a inspection? Is it worth it? I couldn't find any cracks, etc in the foundation but you never know...

JJ

·
Registered
3,890 Posts
If the house is 3 years old, I wouldn't worry about hiring a structural engineer, unless you have a hookup to get one cheaply. Chances are, unless the builder has a shoddy reputation for building crap houses, the structure will be in good condition.

Congrats on the find. :wiggles:

·
Registered
1,925 Posts
Good luck JJ.

I agree with Chris about the structure, it would make more sence if the home was older or the builder was questionable. I don't know how much it would cost, but it wouldn't hurt if it made you feel more comfortable about it.

·
Registered
553 Posts
<--- liscensed realtor

Definately get a structural engineer to take a look at the house. Richmond is a pretty good builder, however one issue with large builders is that they might rush a few things and lay down heavy bits before the foundation might be cured. Also in the sandy/clay soil in colorado it's not too un common for foundations to shift within very short time frames. Think of it as yet another piece of insurance against the most expensive thing you'll ever buy.

·
Registered
107 Posts
analog_909 said:
<--- liscensed realtor