Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all...

I'm a newbie with a question I need resolving about "Bolt-on" aftermarket performance parts for the WRX.

I have no aspirations of super tuning my car (heh-- once I get one) to some outrageous, asphalt melting, hyper tweaked speed demon, but there's something to be said about having a car which truly unique. Some do it by installing aftermarket radios, multiple speakers and multiple amplifiers; some do it by swapping engines (I wonder if anyone has pulled a Suzuki Swift's 85 hp 1.3 liter engine and swapped it for the Suzuki 130GXE motorcycle 156 hp 1.3 liter engine); some go so far as to build (or have built for them) custom body panels, and some just get lightweight aftermarket wheels. Personally, I'm looking at a combination of such things-- a little more engine "oomph", a little more audio "oomph" (I've done that before rather easily), and just a little something different on the exterior (I think my wheels will be the last thing on my list).

I've been following Subarus for quite a while, and while I firmly believe the WRX is going to be my next car, I was really disappointed when I found out the WRX was coming to the US with only 227 hp- about 50 less horsepower than its Japanese cousin (I remember seeing somewhere that the original Japanese WRX had 276 hp back in... what- 1995?). Essentially, I want to tell any gawkers that what I have what is, a WRX tuned to the original Japanese specs.