Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As stated I'm a noob with 17 limited and I need to get cracking on a winter setup. ..up state ny.

Is it out of the question to use the stock rims and add snow tires?

If so...I'm running 18s now but should I look into smaller rims and tires?

I'm leaning towards all seasons as it's pretty rare I'm actually driving in deep snow. They plow the roads pretty well and feel like I'd be driving on dry pavement 85-90% of the time. That would be loud and wear them down quickly I'd imagine.

I hear alot of talk about tire rack. ..is that the best option going? The cheap ass in me is considering buying used rims and slapping on cheap all seasons.

·
Registered
586 Posts
A lot of threads on this recently...

I am in the same boat and got used STI rims with 245/45/R17 Blizzaks. My current thinking is that getting a second set of rims and running full winter tires 4-5 months is a reasonable idea.

Make sure the used rims fit the current WRX bolt configuration.

From what I've read smaller and narrower is generally better, but for most people it makes very little difference. The winter rubber will perform much better than AWT's in cold conditions.

·
Super Moderator (Actually a SuperSpy)
19,723 Posts
As stated I'm a noob with 17 limited and I need to get cracking on a winter setup. ..up state ny.

Is it out of the question to use the stock rims and add snow tires?
No, people do this routinely.

should I look into smaller rims and tires?
The narrower the footprint, the more pressure per cm2 of contact area there will be between the car and the snow. This is generally a good thing, if there is snow. So you sacrifice looks (I certainly don't care) and dry max grip for max winter grip.