Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I'm a scientist (like, uh.. literally) so I'll post this one in "Science Report" format.

Background: I had cold clutch judder/shudder last winter, cold days.. Usually went away after a while, but on particularly bad days it would linger longer, and start up even if it wasn't that cold. Ask the dealership guys to look at it, when the CD player tried to hork my discs. I parked the car there overnight.

The Tech drove with me in the car. It wasn't that cold. "Oh yeah, any car will stammer when it's cold!" He drove it really slow until it was warm, then of course it was fine. (ASSIDE: As I am a scientist, I convinced myself not to be embarassed, or pissed about the mild weather that day.)

Background, part 2: As we all know, cold starts suck. Also, as we all know, there's nothing we can do about it. Some people like to wait until the idle goes all the way down to 750rpm, some just drive it off. Generally I'm in between.

Hypothesis: The engine is just plain weak when cold. Like, pitiful, hamster running around the wheel, Model-T weak.

Method: I have performed a set of tests over the past few cold months: A) Start the car like normal. (ie, cause judder). B) Try to minimize clutch slip. C) Try to go a little faster than B cause an a$$hole in a SUV is behind you.

(A little more detail about B: basically I try to rev match from nearly idle. After starting, waiting ~1-2 min for pre-warm-up, rev up to 2k and get the wheels moving with 1-2 seconds of clutch rub. After that, clutch out completely, engine idles. Enter ULTRA GRANNY MODE, drive around the block until engine is warm, press on gas as little as possible. Ignore cars behind you, drive slow as hel... h3ll?... heck. {Grannies don't say hell.} Go from 1st to 2nd, but not to 3rd.)