Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Boost with nitrous

Is their a EBC that you can setup to change your max boost for each gear? I am running a 50 shot, but do not want to spray in 1st and 2nd. So, I want to run 15psi in 1st and 2nd and then when I spray have the boost drop to about 13psi because with the nitrous it will spike up around 2psi, therefore keeping a max boost of 15 the whole run. Just want to keep my boost levels safe since I'm using stock turbo, fuel, and ecu.
I don't want to spray in 1st or 2nd to go easy on the tranny or should I just spray the whole way at 13psi? Or would it be ok to run 15 and have it spike to 17.
I'm new to nitrous and any opinions would be great.

·
Registered
9 Posts
nitrous on boost ?

Im thinking about adding a 50 shot, but am concerned. I had the Zex kit on my last car, but was wondering if the set up would be any different on a turbo charged application. Also what kits do you guys(and girls) run?

·
Registered
295 Posts
I'd certainly recommend a wet kit on any forced induction vehicle. The forced air taxes the fuel system enough that you don't want to rely on the fuel injectors to supply that much more fuel.

I have the Nitrous Express kit, while plenty of others have the NOS brand kit.

The Zex is a dry manifold kit, so I wouldn't recommend it on the WRX.

·
Registered
6 Posts
I agree with phast.

Get a Wet kit. When trying to add a dry kit to Forced induction motor, that all ready has a 1:1 fuel pressure regulator, Fuel rail pressures can get out of hand in a hurry.

Also a Wet kit will "Hit" Harder then a dry kit because it is controlling the N2O and the fuel. The best would be a direct port system, but they really are only needed for shots over 100hp. For a 50 shot.. as single fogger kit will work great.

I perfer the NX kits because all of there products are big and beefy. Their solnoids come with a lifetime warrenty one them. NOS does not.

·
Registered