ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so I just bought myself a 2018 wrx premium, I love it except for the few issues I've notices that come with these that need tuned out, I'll get pictures posted soon!

·
11,233 Posts
What issues that need tuned out? Tuning brings on more issues than it cures in the end.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I ment the rev hang, and im new to this but from what I've researched, all these wrxs under full throttle cut timing and you can noticbly feel it while accelerating, i talked to my local tuner shop, who build incredible Subarus, that that is something commen with these cars, which can be fixed with a tune

·
11,233 Posts
Well I ment the rev hang, and im new to this but from what I've researched, all these wrxs under full throttle cut timing and you can noticbly feel it while accelerating, i talked to my local tuner shop, who build incredible Subarus, that that is something commen with these cars, which can be fixed with a tune
If your car is pulling timing under full throttle there is an issue. Tuning it won't solve that issue. I suggest you ignore the "after market tunes are way better than stock tunes" crowd and evaluate and think about a few things.

It's cheaper, safer, and more reliable to buy a faster car.

If a car has to be modified to meet the performance standards that you require them look for a different car.

With a broad brush modified vehicles are inherently less reliable than factory vehicles. The more modified the less reliable. All the way to a few thousand miles an engine.

Rev hang is an emissions feature. It's designed to keep the crank case pressure down and lessen oil vapors being lost or pushed into the cylinders. More oil vapor in the cylinder the more gunk that feeds through the egr and back to the valves causing air flow obstructions.