Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks, hello from Ottawa Canada...I've had my 2017 WRX for a year now. Found this forum to join to ask/share stuff on. So basically new to being a Subie, specifically WRX driver. My wallet/wife wouldn't allow me to go for an STI...LOL. I did want to ask about putting in a BOV or cold air intake. I'd done the cold air intake thing when I was younger to an older Civic so there was no issue with warranty. But with my WRX being bought new last year, would either of those installs 'void' my warranty?

Cheers

·
Registered
550 Posts
Nothing wrong with a WRX . . . I went with one myself since it offers decent performance at a good price.

I'm no expert . . . far from it . . . but I'm reasonably sure folks here will tell you a BOV is not a good idea.

·
Water.....sometimes waves
1,611 Posts
you have to allow time for people to answer. Nothing voids warranty. However, if you put an aftermarket intake on and something happens to your car which can be traced to that new intake as the likely cause, dealer and Subaru will not fix it for you for free under your warranty.

I'd at least wait until the warranty was up..............and then I 'd wait a few more years until the urge for noisemakers goes away :)

·
Registered
1,191 Posts
I'd at least wait until the warranty was up..............and then I 'd wait a few more years until the urge for noisemakers goes away :)
This is damned good advice.