Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I am new to Subaru and my first one is a 2018 WRX I got in June.

As I mentioned in the title..... there are some problems I am having. I've been to the service center twice with two different CEL codes. First one was a P1604 which they told me the solution from Subaru USA was to just clear the code. There was no reason given for it.

The most recent one was a P0852 - Park/Neutral switch malfunction. The Tech called Subaru corporate after going through the troubleshooting tree.

They told him that it is apparently a software issue that they intend to fix sometime in December or January. Anyone else had this issue? The light comes on at least a couple of times a week and I have been just resetting the ECU myself. It's a little annoying though. My car has less than 4000 miles and to add to everything, my passenger side window would not go down using my driver side controls (the passenger side button worked though). Once I got going though, the switch started working which to me sounds like some sort of electrical short somewhere in the car.

I love my car, but I am beginning to feel like I might have gotten a lemon :(

· Registered
500 Posts
Keep going back to the same dealer for service. Don't "live" with the problem by resetting the code yourself. If you wish to build a lemon law case, assuming the state you reside in has one, you need to be able to produce documented visits of the same problem multiple times. Be assertive but maintain professionalism, and be willing to work with the dealer. It will make your life easier in the long run should you seek a manufacturer buy-back.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·