Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, just wanted to say hello and introduce myself. Just took delivery on a new 50th Anniversary WRX last night. The color, wheels, and interior sold me and ended up getting to below the price most dealers were at for a Limited with the Harmon package - $35.9K out the door. Along with being new to Subaru, I'm new to turbo cars as well. I had a few questions I was hoping to get your insight on:

1.) The dealer told me there weren't hard/fast break-in procedures for the engine. I've read in other posts to keep it below 4K RPMs and no boost for the first 1K miles. Also, to keep at different RPMs/speeds on highways for that same time frame. Is that a good approach? Not gonna lie, I had some fun with it last night but nothing too crazy.

2.) I do most of my own maintenance on my vehicles, do you guys find the 16+ WRX rather easy to work on and maintain?

3.) Is there anything else I should know being new to the Subaru platform? I don't know about you guys but I feel like the Starlink infotainment system isn't as cool as I thought it'd be. I'm coming from an Acura, and even their tech seams to be a bit better than this.

Looking forward to learning and contributing here. The Mazda forum I was on for my Mazda was a great experience, hope the same here. :wave:

·
Registered
1 Posts
1) The manual says to not go over 4k rpm for the first 1k miles, but I didn't see anything about turbo. I've heard to keep the boost low, but mainly so you're not flooring it.

2) Being a special edition, I think having the dealer do maintenance for record keeping purposes would be your best bet. That edition might be worth a decent amount more down the road if you have the records to show if you decide to sell at some point.

3) Yeah, the electronics are meh, not much more to say.

·
Super Moderator
11,429 Posts