Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took my wife and step daughter to dinner last night. It was their first ride in the WRX. I had about 150 mi. on the car. Coming home, I entered the driveway, downshifted and stalled the car. -5 man points. Started and stalled two more times, got pissed, gunned it and got it up the last 15 feet. The smell of clutch was in the air as we walked to the door. I wanted to throw up. I've been driving stick since 1987, for F sake!!!

I went to bed feeling useless.

This evening, my gal wasn't feeling well,and she was craving McD, so I headed out to grab some empty calories.

Stalled it THREE MORE TIMES trying to get up the hill just off our driveway. I sat there smelling my clutch again and pondering the merits of the CVT. It was then I realized that I was trying to launch the car in 3rd gear!!!

What an idiot. At least I know what I was doing wrong. Hope I mesh with the car soon. And that I don't need a new clutch at 10,000 mi.:rolleyes:

·
Super Moderator
11,775 Posts
I may do that. But it seems like a helpful feature. Even more importantly, having that light on constantly is gonna mess with my OCD. Gah!
Yeah it can be. I drove without it for so long when I got vehicles with it I stalled all the time.

The clutch in these cars has some notoriety for being difficult. You'll get it.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

·
Æternum
16,151 Posts
You stalled, so what?

I've been driving standard for 17 years and I stall all the time in my STI.

A couple factors here -- the Hill Assist has a learning curve. It was responsible for a lot of frustration initially, but eventually I got used to the feature. Additionally, the new models have a lot of caster angle with big tires and scrub radius. When I'm pulling out at full steering lock, this takes a lot of torque to get the car moving and I'll stall frequently in this situation.

·
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Admin
38,620 Posts