ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 2006 wrx and i would like to do a wheel and tire upgrade. im looking to buy a tein coilover setup and lower it like an inch. what size rim and tire would you guys suggest. i would like to go wider than stock however, i dont know how wide i can or cant go. i dont understand all the number people put up when they post rims and tires. i am new to the tuner world and would very much like some positive feedback to put me into the right direction. thank you and have a great day

·
Master Baiter
22,114 Posts
Why do you want coilovers?

·
Registered
43 Posts
If you only want o lower it an inch and you aren't trying to get crazy slammed you should just get a good set of lowering springs. Cheaper and will do what you want. If you.want more than an inch drop, gowith coils.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i want coilovers because i want this car to be my weekend track car as well. any info on the rims and tires

·
Premium Member
25,496 Posts
Skip the teins if you want to track the car. They are for basic looks only.

Wheels 17" or 18" with a width of 8" and an offset of +48 is going to be perfect for you. Tires either go with a 225/45/17, 245/45/17, 235/40/18 or 245/40/18

·
Registered
123 Posts
If you only want o lower it an inch and you aren't trying to get crazy slammed you should just get a good set of lowering springs. Cheaper and will do what you want. If you.want more than an inch drop, gowith coils.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk

agreed, i went the route of the COBB springs ( i dont know if they still produce them, id have to check) but for a mediaocre cost i got about 1 inch drop front and back initially, and as time passed and the springs settles, about 1.5-2 inch drop. just enough to tuck the lip of the tire a tiny bit. much firmer, and i did see a handling improvment.

·
Master Baiter
22,114 Posts