ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this. Lol I just bought a wrx 2004 2.0 awd turbo. I'm already in love with it. It has 93k miles.

Ok so when I'm on the freeway and I'm going maybe like 70mph and I'm on 5th gear and I'm pressing the gas pedal like half way, and then I press it the whole way down the car takes off fast, but I feel like it goes fast then slows down alittle bit and then keeps going fast. Like I even hear the engine and turbo and it sounds like it feels, goes fast then it slows down a bit and then goes fast. It keeps doing that until I let go of the gas pedal. Why does it do this? Maybe I need A fuel system cleaner? Or spark plugs? Or what?

Again I'm new to this lol.

·
Master Baiter
22,114 Posts
You shouldn't floor the car in 5th gear.

Any modifications? Do you have a boost gauge?

·
Super Moderator (Actually a SuperSpy)
29,220 Posts
If the revs climb rapidly while the car is not accelerating, then dip, think clutch.

Otherwise: Vacuum leak, boost leak, spark issue, fuel issue, or normal.

Follow the links in my signature for info on the car, and see the maintenance/troubleshooting subfora.

·
Registered
6,751 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,655 Posts
Um why not?
unless you're in the power band... there's a TON of load on 5th gear (which is the cruising gear) because it's overdriven, and a long ratio. Because of that load, the engine will be fighting to accelerate, but the transmission load is holding it back. The weak point between the two is the clutch. It's very bad on the clutch to gun it at low RPMs in 5th gear.

·
Master Baiter
22,114 Posts
Johnny88k said:
Lol I just bought a wrx 2004 2.0 awd turbo.
Johnny88k said:
I see. No mods on the engine. Just mods for handling. yes I have a boost gauge. How much should I boost it too?

·
Registered
6,751 Posts