ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had no idea there had this section, moving on, I was on my way back home, I decided to do a moderate pull (4k rpm) all of a sudden a knocking/clunking noise started. The faster I went the louder it got, first things firs,to make sure it wasn't coming from my engine I revved it a few, sounded normal, then I let the car roll down a hill in neutral w/ engine off since I figured it only makes the sound when in motion. Nonetheless, again the noise came back, the faster down the hill the louder it was. It sounds like it is coming somewhere front right side of the car. All in all, I was wondering what can be some of the causes of this?

-- Car has 150k mi. on body, and 34k mi. on the engine.

it does the same "clunck" sound when the car is completely off and rolling down a hill in neutral. The sound is just a little less loud.

I really need help quick to find out the issue, I'm a student and use this car to get to campus. Thanks in advance for the help.

·
Captain James of the SS Impreza has gone down with
8,921 Posts
Clunks are usually a ball joint or a strut. It's very unlikely it's your axle or your transmission. Those tend to whine when they begin to fail.

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
Wheel bearing? Almost too audible for that. Do you feel any shudder in the steering wheel?

If you turn it off...its not firing. Plus, if it's in neutral, your transmission and engine aren't engaged while rolling...

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Wheel bearing? Almost too audible for that. Do you feel any shudder in the steering wheel?

If you turn it off...its not firing. Plus, if it's in neutral, your transmission and engine aren't engaged while rolling...