ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've posted elsewhere the aspirations for my car involving handling and throttle, but my final aspiration for my car is to maximize my revs. Does anyone have 1st or 2nd hand experience with improving the redline potential of a 2002 USDM Ej20? I was thinking maybe new cams, crankshaft, flywheel and clutch, but I am not sure. I am new to the powertrain world of technicals and willing to learn. :D

I was thinking new redline at maybe 8 or 8.5?

·
Premium Member
16,991 Posts
A higher redline by itself is meaningless - but I'm sure you knew that. You're going to need a whole different approach in terms of turbo/IC/management/etc. The EJ20 makes pretty sweet power with a larger turbo and supporting mods with its current redline...after that it can be difficult to make more power.

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The higher red line for me, will go hand in hand possibly with a new tranny with shorter gear ratios along with higher power output

·
Registered
109 Posts
and port & polish everything to keep the air flowing...

·
Registered
505 Posts
Doesn't the JDM STi have an 8K redline? Actually in any motor the higher it can rev the more power you can make. Hence the crazy power from F1 engines as 12K rpm. The EJ20 just would really need a proper turbo for it.

·
Registered
377 Posts
Just because certain high-performance engines rev very high, doesn't mean that it is necessarily desirable for all engines to do that. The reason why engines rev high is generally to increase the total amount of air/fuel mixture available to the engine, but EJ20 gets over that by being turbocharged. Once you go that route you apply other limitations, as the relationship between turbo performance and revs is not linear (otherwise power would just keep going up, but it doesn't).

·
Registered
505 Posts
perfusionista said: