Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so ive had my wrx for a couple weeks now, put nearly 600 miles on it so far. its been great but now that i have some first hand experience with the car i have some new questions.

first of witch is the issue of low engine speed pre-ignition. dont lug the engine, dont ask the engine to do a lot of work while at a gearing disadvantage etc etc... but where exactly are the lines here? say in 6th gear, at what rpm level is it safe to ask the engine for peak power? would 2500 be high enough, that is peak torque after all... but it just dosent feel right, i feel like it needs to be higher, but how high?

is the boost gauge a good tool to decide where to draw lines? say im in 5th gear at 40mph, the car is below 2000rpm. using my intuition the car seems fine to cruise on flat terrain in this state. is it ever ok to make any sort of boost in this scenario, even 1-2lbs? is the engine ever in danger while pulling a vacuum?

·
Master Baiter
12,649 Posts
Stanley Yahtzee said:
say in 6th gear, at what rpm level is it safe to ask the engine for peak power?
When you don't have the RPMs to be WOT in 5th gear. Basically, only if you're on a high speed track...

Stanley Yahtzee said:
is the boost gauge a good tool to decide where to draw lines? say im in 5th gear at 40mph, the car is below 2000rpm. using my intuition the car seems fine to cruise on flat terrain in this state. is it ever ok to make any sort of boost in this scenario, even 1-2lbs? is the engine ever in danger while pulling a vacuum?
The car seeing boost in high gears isn't necessarily a problem. You just need to figure out how quickly you need to accelerate, and use that to determine what gear you should be in.