ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have an 05 WRX that needs new front brakes. I called my local dealers, and they want $94.95 for the rotors. Each. And they want $94.95 for the pad sets. Each. That seems pricey to me. I can do BMW brakes for that.
I'm new to the WRX world, and I'm not familiar with the suppliers. Can somebody recommend a good quality aftermarket supplier, or a cheaper place to get OE? Thanks in advance.
Dan

·
Banned
6,622 Posts
Those prices are not bad at all. You might be able to do BMW brakes with eBay parts for that much.

EBC pads are on sale on several websites for ~$50, but that's about as cheap as you're gonna get with good parts.

·
Premium Member
17,655 Posts
autozone or checkers rotors...

unless you drive aggressively, the general consensus is to buy cheap rotors and quality pads.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Ordered yesterday from importrp.com. OE Brembo rotors, and EBC reds, and shipping = $231. Beats the heck out of $400. Thanks again

·
Premium Member
15,697 Posts
I don't know about the reds, but note that the OEM pads would have come with a full hardware kit included. It adds up to a lot if you buy it one piece at a time. I would recommend getting the sliders though at least.

(not recommending OEM pads necessarily, I don't run them - Axxis pads and the whatever (wearever actually :rotfl:) rotors from AZ. I ordered the front Brembos off ebay but they sent the NA Imprezza ones which fortunately ended up fitting the Outback)

·
Premium Member
17,655 Posts
oh sht.... See if you can return the reds for the greens.. or at least the yellows. There is no one that should drive on reds as a daily driven vehicle.

·
Premium Member
17,655 Posts
Why not Reds?
I've heard several places that the reds are just too aggressive... tearing rotors up pretty quickly, warping rotors quickly, pads don't last very long, extreme brake dust, squeaky as hell, etc...