ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am moving to Salt Lake City in 2 weeks. I am leaving the Navy and driving from VA Beach down to FL and then to PHX and then UT.

I just bought the WRX Hatch today. I wasn't expecting to, it just happened :) It is pretty damn sweet.

SO......what tires should I run? SNOW is on its way.

I am brand new to AWD. I want to get up the mountains with no problems in reasonable snow conditions as I snowboard and do a lot of other outdoor activities.

Can I run an all-season tire? It would be cheapest obviously.

MY SNOW DRIVING IS NOT GOING TO BE RALLY RACING WANNABE STYLE....JUST NORMAL DRIVING. SAFE DRIVING.

Thanks guys. I can't wait to get to UT.

Jay:cool:

·
Æternum
20,568 Posts
Welcome and congrats!

I run Hankook Ventus V12 Evos in the summer and Bridgestone Blizzak LM60s for the Winter. Both configurations are of the 225/45/R17 variety.

Dedicated summer/winter setups is without a doubt the superior choice. I would highly recommend this over all-seasons.

·
Good news, everyone!
3,856 Posts
Welcome to Utah, almost. :) I run an all-season during the winter that's M+S rated, just the Falken Ziex ZE-512's, but I don't go into the mountains very often, if at all, but I never have problems. I'm usually the guy laughing at all of the FWD and RWD cars spinning tires at every intersection. If you're sure you're going into the mountains, definitely invest in some dedicated winter tires. Blizzak's are a bit spendy, but you won't want for anything with those. Winters in the canyons can be brutal, trust me I used to drive through the big one (Parley's) every day, and you can't really count on the plows.

·
Registered
2,663 Posts