Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dumb question, My 2018 WRX is my first turbo car so I’m not a pro with knowing how negative boost works yet. But I’m still breaking my car in and have tried to stay away from boost. Everyone says it’s bad to boost your car when it’s cold and all that. Is that only apply to when my boost gauge is readig above 0? Or does that also apply when it’s in negative boost readings.

·
Super Moderator
10,897 Posts
Negative boost readings are vacuum. That's the amount of air the engine is pulling out of the intake system.

Boost is the amount of positive pressure above atmospheric conditions, vacuum is the amount of negative pressure below atmospheric conditions.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So it’s okay to be anywhere in the negatives when the car is cold and stuff? Just don’t boost the car past like 1 psi technically right ?

·
Super Moderator
10,897 Posts
Your car is always in "negative boost" unless it's making boost.

Let's think of it this way. I'll try to kind of explain how it works and what it is. It'll be short and choppy because I'm on my phone.

Your altitude and location the absolute atmospheric pressure is 14psi. So if your boost gauge reads 0 you are filling the intake at the rate the Pistons are drawing the air out. If it's a positive number your turbo is pushing more air than the engine is pulling from the manifold.

Now, with the negative boost pressure. As the Piston moves down for the intake stroke it pulls a volume of air out of the intake. It does this by vacuum. The piston moving down creates a vacuum in the cylinder, the higher pressure air in the intake rushes to that area and a creates a loss of pressure in the manifold (negative boost) which in turn draws air through the intake. So at idle your car will read something like -11psi of boost. That's just the vacuum created by the engine drawing air out of the intake system.