Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read on WRXtuners that boosting 15.5 psi on the stock turbo will cause your injectors to hit 98% duty cycle...eh? That doesn't sound right to me, but of course I'm no expert. Anyone here know for sure?

·
Registered
50 Posts
Well, from what I understand, anything above 80% causes the injectors to go "static" and effectively stay open continuously anyway...

·
895 Posts
what about if you have other mods? say, an exhaust or whatnot - then im guessing your duty cycle would be lower at the same boost level?

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I'm helping a friend do some tuning on the UTEC in his car. He has a stock turbo/stock fuel setup and when going over 15psi he reached 98% injector duty cycle.

I expressed surpise when he told me about it - but here's a log:

We're still trying to figure out if the reading is correct - and/or if the MAP sensor is calibrated properly.

Either way, the car is running rich - but the injectors are working HARD to keep it that way!

Thankfully there are no knock events, the UTEC is adding up to 22 degrees of advance along it's map...

We're starting to get confident in the readings we're seeing - we're going to try to pull some fuel out of the map to see if we can relax the injectors a bit at rpm...

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
Interesting to note on the log is the turbo's (or the UTEC's) inability to hold boost to redline.

What's also interesting (and perplexing) is that the injector duty cycle is past 98% even when the TPS is only reading in the upper 60's... :eek:

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
Here's a chart showing boost vs. injector duty cycle.

·
Premium Member
6,750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Wow that's crazy...what are the possible repercussions of this?

·
Registered
1,895 Posts