ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just kidding guys. I hear that is the norm for a noob like me.

What I'm really looking to do is get a feel for what I should be doing first as far as inexpensive (<$500) power mods to get the most bang for the buck. I am new to WRXs and even to turbo cars for that matter, so bear with me please...

I have a 2011 WRX with about 12,000mi on it, and I have an Accessport currently running the Stage 1 93 octane map (the HWG version because I wasn't hitting target boost). I have a AEM CAI, and Invidia catless DP in the mail, and I'm just wondering what else you experts out there would be looking to do as far as cheap and easy power mods. I'm not looking to build a monster; otherwise I would have started with an STi. Just looking to make my daily driver as fun as possible without investing buckets of cash.

Before the lectures about brakes and suspension start rolling in, I already have done a couple minor things in those areas and looking to do more as money (read: my wife's patience) permits.

Thanks,

Ben

·
Premium Member
25,496 Posts
As for the 400whp... I want each cowboy cheerleader to pull train on me.. Hell.. Figured since we were wishing...

·
Premium Member
252 Posts
Lol, -trollolololl- However good advice on the tune and exhaust.. I dunno how much bhp I'll eventually go for but for now I'm all about turning and burning, breaking and turning are on my to do list.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Haha, thanks for the warm welcome all. Sorry for the title...I just got a bit of a chuckle reading some of the past newbie threads and thought I'd follow suit.

Quick follow-on questions: I'm guessing a hybrid BPV/BOV is just for sound and doesn't really have a positive effect on performance. Is this true? Also, would a boost controller be redundant since the AP already raises boost? Thanks.

·
Registered
2,663 Posts