ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m thinking of installing an hta68 and process west tmic on a 2010 WRX in search of 310whp and 357wtq. I’m currently at 260/297 on E85 with a conservative, close to stock boost level. The engine components are stock except for the downpipe and injectors. I realize that some folks are passing those numbers with the stock vf52, but at over 6000’ I was told the hta68 would be the better choice. Opinions, advice, financial assistance :D

·
Master Baiter
22,115 Posts
I wouldn't run that turbo on a 2.5L

·
Captain James of the SS Impreza has gone down with
8,921 Posts
Go for it. I have a HTA68 and ran it out of the efficiency range.

·
Registered
6,751 Posts
I'm no expert on the turbo so I'll leave that to others.

What braking and suspension mods are you planning to support the increase in power?

·
Master Baiter
22,115 Posts
Stawgn10 said:
How come?
Small compressor housing
Tiny hotside
Compressor wheel is too big for said housing / hotside
Just mismatched in general.

You already have a VF52. If you want to upgrade turbos, you shouldn't bother with anything below a 20G. Blouch offers one:
Subaru Legacy GT 440XT Turbocharger

·
Captain James of the SS Impreza has gone down with
8,921 Posts
Small compressor housing
Tiny hotside
Compressor wheel is too big for said housing / hotside
Just mismatched in general.

You already have a VF52. If you want to upgrade turbos, you shouldn't bother with anything below a 20G. Blouch offers one:
Subaru Legacy GT 440XT Turbocharger
What he speaks is mostly true. However, even if you do decide to get the HTA68, you're going to see substantial gains across the power band. Ther eare other options you can get after you buy the turbo like a larger hotside. However when you get into doing stuff like that you're probably better off just getting a slightly larger turbo like EJ257 was saying. Plus FPs fit a bit weird.

·
Æternum
20,919 Posts